Some people say that the ONLY REASON for LEARNING a FOREIGN LANGUAGES is in order to TRAVEL TO OR WORK in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reason why someone should learn a foreign language.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Language is a medium of communication adopted by people to exchange their thoughts and ideas in the best way possible, however, his medium often differs from one country to another. While some people assert that the single requirement to learn a foreign language is to either acquire employment or to make a tour of that nation, in my view, international trade and education also require this learning.

To begin with, those who consider working and travelling are the only sectors where knowledge of host country's mother-tongue is necessary, reckon that these areas require the proficiency in communication to work or travel with the foreigners. This is because this learning is required by the people to read the instructions and to enquire from fellow passengers while commuting to reach their destination. Moreover, in the workplace, it makes easier for workers to converse and express their views among team members, consequently, this leads to a healthy work environment. To illustrate, according to a survey by 'The Hindu', 40 per cent of young people in India are attending French courses only to earn a stupendous job in European countries. Thus, if an individual does not have knowledge of native-tongue, it will become impossible for them to work overseas.

Nevertheless, I opine that there are many other areas where learning of foreign language plays a pivotal role, such as trade and education. Owing to the surge in globalisation, import and export between the countries have become much easier, therefore, learning the language of the connecting nation not only facilitates the traders to advertise their product efficiently but also helps them to negotiate the prices more appropriately. Furthermore, to attain studies in a foreign land, it is quintessential to undergo proper language examinations. The reason for this is by qualifying these tests students will be able to grasp academic subjects more easily and can earn a job. For instance, all the educational institutions of Canada and Australia, have a mandatory requirement of achieving good band score in the English Learning test to take admission.

In conclusion, although international language acquisition is important for work or travel, in my perspective, it is also vital for the expansion of trade and convenient education.