Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is important to find out which subjects should a student opt for the tertiary education. Some people believe that they should choose science-related majors for higher studies in order to procure a lucrative job, while others opine there should be a complete freedom for students to choose subjects of their own interest. I completely agree with the former view as with this there will be a decrease in failure rates.

On the one hand, there is no doubt scientific courses are quintessential for earning a job after the completion of university education. The reason for this is that most of the sectors these days are computer oriented and the demand for science graduates is increasing with every passing day. To illustrate, with the surge in digitalisation in India, there is a 40% proliferation in the science-related jobs in comparison than other areas. Therefore, these subjects are preferred as they provide job assurance.

On the other hand, providing liberty to the students to choose majors according to their interest can certainly lead to lower failure rates. This is because, grasping of the things of one’s own passion is generally easy, which leads to the detailed learning of the subject and provides the opportunity to achieve success in that particular field. To exemplify, Taylor Swift, a world-famous music director and a singer, studied music as a major. Thus, in my opinion, people are more likely to succeed if they follow their interests.

In conclusion, although science-based subjects provide more employment opportunities, in my perspective, the choice of subjects with respect to the interest and passion often leads to a successful career.