IN THE PAST, MANY PEOPLE HAD SKILLS SUCH AS MAKING THEIR OWN CLOTHES AND DOING REPAIRS TO THINGS IN THE HOUSE. IN MANY COUNTRIES, SKILLS LIKE THESE ARE DISAPPEARING.

-WHY DO YOU THINK THIS CHANGE IS HAPPENING.

-HOW FAR IS THIS SITUATION TRUE IN YOUR COUNTRY.

Owing to the advancement in science technology, the traditional skills of people are diminishing. The availability of technical machines and the lack of experience among the new generation has lead to the disappearance of arts of ancestors such as hand-made clothes and, building and repairing of household items.

To embark on, there are numerous factors responsible for this burgeoning trend. The first and foremost is the development of a wide range of machinery which helps to carry out the work in fractions of time and more accurately. As a result, modern technology is prefered in comparison to manual efforts to produce better and effective results and at a faster rate. For instance, in the earlier years of the nineteenth century, people used to produce khadi cloth manually which took a minimum thirty days for preparation. It was huge investment of time and labour at that time, however, nowadays the advents of technical devices have made the process of production much easier.

Another crucial factor is the lack of inherited knowledge and experience. In other words, today's young generation does not hold the proficiency to fix the minor defects in the household items, this is because the skills are usually not taught to the growing children which make them unskilled in these areas. In addition, the specialised technicians are available for every repair work which lead to the least interest of youngsters to learn these skills.

Considering the situation in my country, although modern technology has influenced the major parts of the nation, there are some exceptionally backward areas where manual work still persist. For instance, the Tehri place in the west of Rajasthan is the place where technology has not reached yet and people living there used to wear hand-made clothes and knitted sweaters. Moreover, there is no availability of repair shops in that particular area. Conversely, the metropolitan cities are blessed with industries, skilled professionals, high-tech machines where every task is done technically.

In conclusion, it can be stated that the surge in modernization and industrialization has disappeared the traditional manual art of making clothes and repairing things. While this phenomenon has taken over the major portion of my country, there are some places where manual work exists.