Transport delays and long journey times are a widespread phenomenon in many cities today.

What are the causes of this problem, and how could the situation be improved?

It is an undeniable fact that nowadays the problem of transportation has become a serious issue of concern in major cities. The less number of public transport facilities and citizens not abiding the traffic rules have exaggerated the traveling hours and delays. However, this problem can be alleviated by introducing metros and public buses and, charging high penalties on violating regulations.

To begin with, there are a plethora of factors responsible for the surge in road congestions. The first and foremost is the less government commuting facilities available for the general public. Owing to this, people make use of their private individual vehicles which lead to an increased number of on-road commuters. As a result, roads get blocked with the high volume of vehicles leading to heavy traffic jams, which, in turn, hinders the transportation system. For instance, according to the report by Delhi Traffic Police, 60% of the congestion on the Delhi highways is caused by private cars. Secondly, another crucial factor is that people do not abide by the rules and regulations defined for driving. This is because drivers do not follow the road instructions such as checking the traffic lights and moving in the right lanes.

Nevertheless, these problems can be resolved by taking some measures. Primarily, the introduction of fast and spacious public transport facilities can reduce the number of jams on the roads. Moreover, the technical commuting services such as metro, trans-buses and local trains are more convenient and fastest ways of transportation which can be opted to clear congested paths and to avoid detaining travels. Next, high penalties should be charged to the person who does not follow the traffic rules. For example, according to new rules in India, a chalan of Rs.1000 is charged for breaking red light. Consequently, this will lower the levels of traffic and delay in journies.

In conclusion, although transportation congestion is a crucial problem, this can be solved by increasing the modes of public transport and issuing high fines to the ones not following the rules.