Many old buildings protected by law are part of a nation’s history. Some people think they should be knocked down and replaced by news ones.How important is it to maintain old buildings?Should history stand in the way of progress?

It is often argued that ancient buildings should be strenuously preserved, as they signify the rich heritage of culture and traditions handed down between generations. However, some may claim that modern society needs new buildings, instead. I will discuss both sides of arguments and give a concluding view here.

On the one hand, making coordinated efforts seem to be essential to preserve historical buildings, as they are a valuable source of cultural identity and traditions. These may range from a conventional lifestyle in the past to the religious rituals and traditional design of buildings. By longer existence of such structures, therefore, new generations can be fully aware of the richness of their history and traditions. Furthermore, ancient buildings are of great research value to provide historian and anthropologists with relics of past to untangle historical questions. Finally, having such monumental buildings, a significant boost in the tourism industry seems inevitable, eventually leading to bring financial and social benefits for the host country.

On the other hand, opponents point out that recent advances in technology have revolutionized the way people live, and thus they need to have modern infrastructures to promote the greater sense of satisfaction and productivity. It may originate from the construction of new modern schools, universities, hospitals, roads and a decent transport system. For this reason, such ancient buildings should be replaced with more developed structures to serve people`s demands. Moreover, it seems sensible for the local authorities to embellish residential areas with new buildings with incentive external designs which consider the qualities of beauty and modern shape. This is perhaps tremendously beneficial to modernize cities in the world today.

In conclusion, I believe that any efforts made to protect old buildings to being replaced with new structures seem a wiser course since it helps to preserve cultural heritage and traditions.