Many old cities around the world are going through a major process of modernization. What are the advantages and disadvantages of modernization?

In contemporary time, a majority of ancient towns around the globe are under massive transformation for becoming smart cities. There are a myriad of benefits as well as drawbacks of this trend. Both the aspects are elucidating in ensuing paragraphs.

Pondering the light on brighter side, the foremost argument is that process of modernization will bolster the economy of country. In the process of making cities advance, it will attract a lot of investment and consequently it will generate employments. This has direct positive impact on growth of the town and so country also. For example, constructing advance bridges in town will generate job opportunities for local residents as well as it will boost the demand of cement, metal and equipment. Therefore it will benefit to such industries to a large extent.

Examining the darker side of modernization, the primary reason is that it will detriment the aura of the ancient towns. Such kind of cities are usually less developed but offers very peaceful life and less population. As modernization will attract many industries there and so people will be inclined to shift to new developed town, a true smell of such towns will be lost.

To conclude and recapitulate, it is quite conspicuous from aforesaid deliberation that there are a plethora of merits of modernization like bolstering to the economy of country with the growth of industry as well as generating a lot of employment for local people. However, the other side also claim a loss of real charm of town with pollution and disturbing peaceful life. I believe, modernization is good but it should be done with keeping the true sense of ancient cities intact.