Many old cities around the world are going through a major process of modernization What are the advantages and disadvantages of modernization

In contemporary time, countless ancient towns around the globe are under massive transformation of becoming smart cities. There are a myriad of benefits as well as drawbacks of such change. Both the aspects are elucidated in ensuing paragraphs.

Pondering the light on brighter side , the foremost one is that it will ameliorate the standard of living of citizens. Modernization of cities calls for the advance infrastructures in the field of medical, education, transportation and technology. Therefore, localites not just avail the basic facility but also advance facilities in such areas which improve their life style. To exemplify my point, persons living in old down are deprived of advanced medical facility and they tend to travel to developed area to get proper treatment. In addition to this, refurbishment of towns generate employment for the local residents. With the increase in consumption of various materials like Cement, metal & many other raw materials, new factories will come up to fulfill the demand hence they generate a plethora of jobs for people.

Expounding the darker side of this tendency, the primary reason is that traditional and cultural values of decades old towns are diminishing. Many old monuments represent the heritage and customs of a nation and demolishing them will vanish the history associate with them. The other reason is that, development in massive way always disturb the ecosystem of society. Large section of green area required to cut down for construction of new buildings or bridges and establishment of new factories emit the toxic gases. This will have a catastrophic impact on the local area.

To conclude and recapitulate, it is quite conspicuous from aforesaid deliberation that there are a plethora of merits like enhanced infrastructure in heath, education, technology & in medical along with employment generation for localite. However, there are some demerits also associate with this trend like dwindling of culture as well as climate. In my perception, change is inevitable but at the same time precautionary measure must be taken to preserve the aura of ancient towns.