Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful, others disagree. Discuss both the views and give your own opinion.

It has been observed that many times organizations demand confidential details of job seekers like their marital status, hobbies, location, language preference etcetera. A group of individuals concieve a notion that these data are vital for employer swhile a few others are against such phenomenon. Therefore, both aspected ought to be discussed first before giving my opinion.

Pondering the light on formerview, the foremost argument put forward by the proponents is that, sensetive informations are important for screening the job applicants. Analysing their data will give vivid picture of their behavour, adaptibility for profile and preference of candidate before the interview. To exemplify my point, if vacant position is into the field of sales and marketing were extensive travelling is need of the job but if person is not comfortable with hectic travelling then it is better not to call the person for interview hence saves a lot of efforts as well time of employer.

Expounding the flip side, the primary reason put forth by others is that shortlisting of curriculum vitae should be based on candidates professional skills. There is a possibility that company might loose potential candidate based on evaluation of his personal data. For example, if a person is staying in far province and HR professional might think that person may not relocate with his family hence he may not call for the interview even though he has valid talend and work experience to perform the job. In addition to this, there is no reliablity of details provided by applicants. Many times it happen that, candidate submit the fake details to impress the employer.

In the end to summarize and recapitulate, there is conspicuous form the aforesaid deliberation that personal details will help to screen the candidate profile on some parameters but more emphasis should be given to candidate's professional skills & work experience.