Many parents believe that when their children read books for entertainment, they are wasting their time and they should only read serious educational books. What is your opinion?

Parents are highly concerned about reading genre of their children. Growing concerns enlighten that children should only read serious educational books as it will keep them in tandem with knowledge and discipline. Despite this, some parents believed that reading entertainment books enhances imagination and creativity. Moreover, it also helps children to keep their concentration in positive habit than that of negative activities. I strongly tied with notion of entertainment books than serious educational books. This essay will uses example to explore that why entertainment books is not a waste of time.

To begin with, reading is intuitively perceived as constructive habit. Reading entertainment books enhances imagination and creativity among young learners which help them in their life life to deal with struggling issues. According to empirical research, conducted on 20 teens conveyed that children who were reading entertainment books have tackle difficult situations more intelligently than that of serious readers. Seen in this light, it is believed that readers who are fond of entertainment books can handle difficult situations smartly due to their increase imagination and creative skills.

Another insight that must not be neglected, entertainment books drag the interest of young learners and hence they are less likely to divert on unethical habits such as bullying, misbehaving and fighting with peers. Psychological studies have found that if children are induced in habits which can keep their attention uninterpreted like reading comics or story book of favourite character; are less likely to develop negative attitude. Consistent, with this line of thinking, it is broadly understood that entertainment books enhance interest and keep children busy with books rather than indulging into destructive activities.

To conclude, books genre is the primary concern of parents. Though, serious educational books are important for children but entertainment books also plays vital role to increase imagination and creativity among children. Furthermore, entertainment books keep children attention intact which deter them to divert in habits that might hampers their growth and personality. Thus, it is agreed that entertainment books are not wastage of time. Instead, investment in children intellectual and character building.