Many parents think that it is good to teach the children about the value of money.

Why do you think it is important to teach them the value of money? What are the ways that can help children in learning the same?

Nowadays, money is the prerequisite of leading a good life and required to attain a status in life. However, there are people who say that the parents should not spend money extravagantly, rather save money and also teach their children the importance of money.

The habits that we foster in a child in the young age will stay with them for the rest of their life. The same will set a milestone to react similarly in future to the same set of problems. However, in order to have a positive impact on the life of children the parents need to teach the children from a tender age to spend wisely. The same will only benefit the child in a long run and it is very difficult to develop the habit of being wise with money. Further, the child will learn from the parents the basics of leading a better life and would, in turn, implement the same in future with family.

Furthermore, there are numerous ways in which the parents can inculcate the child in money saving. Firstly, when the child is of a tender age the parents should take the child out to grocery shopping and show them about that one needs to pay for the goods purchased. Secondly, the child should be taught that earning money is hard, the said teachings can only be given by assigning small household works and in return the parents paying the child a small sum of money after completion of the work. For instance, the parents should also give the child a piggy bank which would allow the child to deposit the money received and also help in the formation of saving habits. Thus, these small steps can prove to be fruitful in the longer run.