Many people believe that formal “pen and paper” examinations are not the best method of assessing educational achievement.

Discuss this view and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, technological advancements have changed lifestyles. They have made our lives much easier and hassle free. It has also made an impact on different methods of studying. However, regardless of technological advancements, different organisations still conduct examinations based on pen and paper format. There is a mix opinion, regarding the efficiency and conclusion of results based on this format. Few people believe, this system has loop holes, while on the other hand few believe, it to only be the way out.

Traditional method of examination has been highly accepted around the globe. It is used to analyse different students. However, assessing examinations and achievements are completely based on analysis of teachers or examiners. Moreover, conventional format has been used for ages to measure the performance. On numerous occasions, children who have good writing skills tend to achieve more and this is one of it's limitation. As there are children, who are highly learned but struggle to write on numerous topics. Hence, this highlights the problems with pen and paper format.

A debate has been conducted these days, regarding format of exams. Analysts have been trying to find other options and formats, few have been successful. As it is believed, there is need of different formats for different professions. When it comes to analysing skills such as: writing thesis, reports, novels, etc. then written exams should be preferred. While on the other hand, professions such as: engineering, physicians, scientists and doctors should be analysed on practical examination. However, a mixture of examination formats could be used, but less weight-age should be given to written exams.

In conclusion, it is always important to use different methods to measure skills and conclude on basis of their results. We cannot only rely on pen and paper method, therefore using different tools of analysis is need of hour.