Many people believe that media coverage of celebrities is having a negative effect on children.
To what extent do you agree?
It is commonly believed that coverage given to celebrities by media have detrimental effects on children. In my
opinion, it is the role of media to cover any popular person but the time for it should be limited as children
need to learn many other things.
Children get inspired by celebrities and are curious to know about their personality to imitate them. When they
see the fame or wealth of celebrities because of media, it gives them inspiration to achieve something in life.
This motivation, channelised properly and used in right direction,can transform their life tremendously.
Also, some celebrities take part in many social welfare activities which again children get to know through
media. Therefore they also develop a passion of giving back to soceity.
But there are some serious consequences of it too. Firstly, celebrities working in a movie and having a superhero
role gets popular among children, creating unrealistic characterisitics of human in their mind. Secondly, there
are many other profession in the soceity which needs development therefore children need to have motivation to
pursue that career. For that it requires the coverage of professional people such as scientists, teachers, doctors.
For that glamourous life of celebrities shown on TV have to be curtailed.
To conclude, celebrities should be given time on media but the limit of time for it needs to be monitored
strictly in order to have a postive effect on children.