Many people believe that the media coverage of celebrities is having a negative effect on children. TO WHAT EXTENT do you agree or disagree with this opinion.

It is often argued that publishing news related to public figures could affect youngsters adversely. While I accept the idea that children may follow the steps of some figures and harm their society, I agree that not all celebrities are of dire influence on children’s personalities.

On the one hand, children have vulnerable psychology; in other words, they can easily get affected by negative influencers. If a child is growing up watching scandals of careless public figures, he or she will more likely to grow ill-behaved. That is the case nowadays in Egypt where some areas are suffering from the omnipresence of white weapons among 8-12-year-olds who are following celebrities with bad reputation on Instagram, Facebook, and other social media applications. Therefore, it might be justified why some people might think that disclosing celebrities daily actions could be harmful.

On the other hand, I would side with those who believe that the majority of celebrities can set a role model for our children. As publicizing news related to public figure’s donations to help less fortunate people or interviewing them while talking about their achievements would have significant positive impacts on children personalities. For instance, Amro Diab, an Egyptian singer, is considered to be an idol for youth due to his massive international success in the field of music as well as business, and his recent campaign to improve the quality of life of impoverished people has gained an enormous popularity among youths causing them to donate to local charities.

To conclude, despite the possible negative impacts on children’s behavior, I reiterate that revealing information about some celebrities is of utmost importance for motivating children to follow their positive deeds in life.