Many people believe that social networking sites (such as Facebook) have had a huge negative impact on both individuals and society. To what extent do you agree?

In this age of technological advancements, people (mainly youngsters) prefer to use social media to communicate with each other. Even though social media websites like Facebook may not be harmful to a community, I believe it certainly has detrimental effects on an individual. This essay will discuss the effects of social media sites on a community and an individual user.

Social media sites such as Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, etc get used on a big scale nowadays. Most the users share their personal information on these sites but they don’t understand the risk of uploading it on the internet. As a matter of fact, sharing the sensitive information on these sites makes users’ identities vulnerable to the hackers who could hack and use that information for their personal gains which might result in the case of stone identity or any sort of monetary loss.

Apart from that, there are few subscribers who use these platforms to spread fake news and to make derogatory comments about someone or something which may create a war-like situation between two communities.

Social media platform are actually beneficial for a community if it is used in the right direction. As these sites get accessed by millions of people almost daily, it can be used for advertisements purposes and to cascade any useful information which would help the local community.

In essence, social media platforms don’t have any life themselves but just software; hence they can’t be blamed about creating bad effects on people or communities. It depends on the users how do they want to use it. If they decide to lead these platforms in right direction, it will only bear sweet fruits and if they don’t, it’ll make clouds rain fire.