Many people believe that social networking sites (such as Facebook) have had a huge negative impact on both individuals and society. To what extent do you agree?

With the advent of technology, the way people communicate with each other changed dramatically. Some people believe that social networking sites such Facebook has a negative impact on individual and is a threat to society. I agree that at a society level social networking sites has negative effect whereas at an individual level it has positive impact.

On one hand, social networking sites have changed the world of human. In a fast paced world where an individual working round the clock, it became impossible to connect and communicate with friends and family daily. At an individual level people started using social networking sites to maintain and build relationships that are useful for both personal life and professional life. People can connect to anyone around the world using these networking sites and consequently communicate and learn from through online and utilize them for their benefit. For example there are multiple channels available in YouTube which provides information from making soap to building home.

On the other hand, people are attached to their networking devices and disconnected from real world activities. They are neglecting their family for their new found interests. Some people are even immersed in virtual world and sharing their too personal information and becoming the prey to hackers and online scams. People stopped actively participating in social activities and are often away from meeting with family or community thus living in isolation. This trend not only effect individual as a person but also has a detrimental effect on the future generations. When present generation living in isolation and not learning about social norms, how can they guide next generation? This has to be taken care by both society and people mindset and habits.

To conclude, although, social networking sites are beneficial to an individual, we should not forget about the society and utilize the knowledge for developing it. At society level there should be more frequent meetings with in the community to ensure proper communication between people around.