Childhood obesity is becoming a serious problem in many countries. Explain the main causes and effects of this problem, and suggest some possible solutions.

The number of children who are suffering from obesity can be said to have reached epidemic proportions. So, what are the factors behind this obesity epidemic, and how can it be brought under control. This essay will attempt to answer these pressing questions.

Firstly, it seems that a significant amount of blame can be given to poor diet combined with the marketing of unhealthy food toward young people. Children’s diets often consist of junk food, such as potato chips and candy, which is not only low in nutrients but also high in calories. This dietary issue is also compounded by the fact that these kinds of food are often marketed directly at children with fun cartoon mascots and bright colors that are designed to attract children’s attention.

Another undeniable reason is sedentary lifestyle. Children in the modern world tend to lead lives that are shockingly inactive compared to their predecessors. Much of their time is spent sitting in front of a screen, whether it be television, a computer, or a smartphone. In fact, studies have shown that children in urban environments tend to get only two hours of exercise per week compared to two hours per day just a generation ago.

Nevertheless, through concerted action by parents and governments, this worrying situation can be alleviated. In terms of diet, parents need to play a greater role in controlling what their children eat. For the government’s part, they can introduce legislation restricting the promotion of unhealthy food to children. Similarly, parents need to make a greater effort to ensure their children are getting sufficient exercise on a daily basis, while the government can launch some kind of ‘stay active’ health campaigns.

Overall, the rise in the number of obese children is certainly worrying, especially and kids are a vulnerable part of the population. However, by taking some simple practical steps, we can help to make sure that the next generation grows up healthy and strong.