Many people believe that social networking sites have had had a huge negative impact on both individuals and society. To what extent do you agree?

Since the last century, the popularity of social networking sites such as Facebook has grown significantly. Although these sites have grown in their user's database, yet a section of society believes that these sites have affected both society and an individual negatively. In my perspective, I firmly agree with the statement because addiction to social sites could impact the following: health and family. This essay will discuss both these issues with relevant examples in support of my view.

The increased role of social networking sites in our lives has impacted the health of our society and an individual. Nowadays, everyone prefers spending extended hours on these sites over the outdoor physical activities due to which cases of many health ailments such as obesity, high blood pressure, and high cholesterol are increasing in individuals. Undeniably, an unhealthy individual will rise to an unfit society, as they are directly related to each other. The growth and development of society will be affected by the upsurge of health issues because more funds will be required to provide health care to all. For instance, as per the survey conducted by the Health Department of India reveals that the number of health-related cases has been increasing exponentially each year since the evolution of social sites. Consequently, the budget on health care has also inclined by fifty percent. Therefore, increasing usage of social networking sites is one of the prominent reasons for causing health problems, thereby affecting individuals and society.

In addition to health, increasing usage of social sites is also impacting families because the involvement of an individual in his or her family has reduced, thereby promoting conflicts and misunderstanding, which eventually lead to divorce or nuclear families. These circumstances impact the psychological condition and life of an individual due to anxiety, depression, and emotional pressure after such incidents. Furthermore, our social structure is built on numerous social values, and the family is one of the most important among them, unarguably. The breakdown of a family culture diminishes the moral values, resulting in many heinous crimes such as rape and genocide, which pose a threat to the peace and prosperity of a society. For example, reports released by the Government has shown that the children from a dysfunctional family background are more likely to involve in juvenile crimes. Thus, it is evident that increased exposure could lead to conflicts that could affect an individual life and also increase criminal activities in society.

In conclusion, spending more time on social sites could trigger the health and family issues for an individual; also affects society because any impact on a person has ramifications on our social structure.