Some people believe that using animals to test the safety of human medicines is cruel and unwarrented, whereas others feel it is a medical necessity. Discuss both views and state your own opinion.

To understand the pathological safety and potency of medicines, experiments are often conducted on animals by scientists. These practices remain a source of constant debate in our society. A section of society thinks that using animals to examine the safety of a drug is brutal and cannot be justified, whereas others disagree and emphasize that these procedures are necessary for medicinal improvements.

The primary reason why many people do not favor these experiments is rooted in the fact that a high proportion of animals lose their lives. While testing medicines, animals die or suffer many abnormalities due to the side-effects of the medicine. As they are also living beings, it is inhumane to risk their lives for experimenting the medicine safety. The Sunday Times has recently reported that more than 30 percent of the animals involved in experiments are dying annually all over the world.

On the contrary, some people feel that there is no other way around to check the effects of the medicine. Many animals have biological similarities with humans, especially rats, and these experiments can provide conclusive evidence for its therapeutic actions. If a new drug is administered directly to humans, it could be fatal for them. Although these examinations cannot be justified, yet there is no other alternative to check drug safety.

In conclusion, the testing of drugs on animals is barbaric, yet it is of the utmost importance for the survival of humans. Therefore, I believe that these medicinal trials are mandatory for the existence of human life.