Many people think the professional sportsmen/sportswomen's behaviors on or off the field are not important as long as they are good players. To what extent do you agree or disagree with it?

In the contemporary society, a sportsperson is an extremely influential being. As they rise to their fame and glory everyone looks up to them as a role model or a celebrity. Although an ordinary persons’ behavior is not a concern to a majority of the people, it becomes one when they become a big name.

To begin with, a professional sports player is considered to be a celebrity and therefore their behavior in personal life is also exposed to the public. The sports men and women are always followed by the paparazzi and they do not have any privacy. They represent our country, culture and norms before the entire world. The ordinary people follow and listen to them and some even try to mimic their everyday lifestyle. Consequently, the general public also follows the manner in which they conduct themselves and how they behave with people around them as normal beings.

Moreover, an athlete’s behavior on the field is also a significant aspect. If a person displays unacceptable behavior, their team members will be reluctant to approach or work with them which may ultimately lead to forfeiting the game. If any player demonstrates poor behavior, it impacts the entire team as a whole because there will be conflicts with that particular member. Hence, the strategies would be loosely formulated around that person as no one desires to interact with him or her. This might eventually lead to a disappointing performance on the field despite being an outstanding player. Furthermore, unacceptable behavior on the field it could affect the safety of other members leading to severe injuries and fatalities.

To conclude, I would like to reiterate that the professional sportsmen and sportswomen are rendered as celebrities to the society. Hence, their behavior on or off the field is closely followed by a number of followers irrespective of how they play. Additionally, it has an impact on the team spirit and how the game is played.