Many people think the professional sportsmen/sportswomen's behaviors on or off the field are not important as long as they are good players. To what extent do you agree or disagree with it?

A sportsperson is an extremely influential being in the contemporary society. As they rise to their fame and glory everyone looks up to them as a role model or a celebrity. Hence, it is imperative that along with being a good player, they also have a positive behavior. In the following paragraphs I will put forth the reasons for my opinion.

To begin with, a professional athlete is a role model and youth icons. People, especially youth, look up to them and follow them and if they behave perfectly, people will follow them and learn good qualities and try to incorporate in their lives. On the contrary, if they are rude and indulge in immoral activities, youth may also do the same thing. For instance, many a times we have seen that youth start smoking after getting influenced from their idols.

Additionally, a positive behavior also has several benefits for the players themselves. Those who demonstrate inappropriate behavior like being rude or using inappropriate languages may be not be respected and may even suffer severe consequences for their actions. For example, Sakib-al-Hasan, a Bangladeshi cricket player, got banned several times for being disrespectful towards the umpire and fellow team members, despite being an all rounder and earning several trophies for the team. But good etiquette not only bring respect, it also aids in improved performance on the field as communication among team members becomes much friendlier and they try to help each other. Consequently, these factors contribute to getting promotions and better remunerations. For instance, Mashrafe bin Mortaza is adored by all not only within the country, but by many across the border, for his friendly temperament. Hence, he gradually became the best captain for Bangladeshi cricket team and also nominated as the MP of his home district.

To sum up, I firmly believe that a professional sports player is loved by the public not only for their good playing skills but also for their good code of conduct which not only sets a good example for the youth but also benefits them in their career.