Many people try to look younger than their age. What are the reasons people do this? Do you think this is a good thing or a bad thing?

It is undeniable that many people nowadays are trying to change their body image in order to appear younger. In fact, there are numerous reasons to such a big tendency, so it may have both positive and negative effects on individuals and society.

Of all various reasons, the main one is youth obsessed mindset in society. Physical appearance turns out to be so crucial that it decides people’s social status; consequently, to make themselves presentable and convivial, people try to look younger than their official age. The second factor is that they don’t want to get old, so they hide the signs of aging to feel as young as a teenager. For instance, to become more physically active many people visit gymnasium, do yoga and eat healthy. As a result, they overcome ageing effects looking much younger and healthier.

On the other hand, many individuals have become so obsessed with rejuvenation that they splurge on cosmetic products and surgeries. This in turn may have devastating impacts on their general health. Therefore, advertisements of cosmetic products, peer pressure and media influence overwhelmingly promote a false idea of beauty by modifying people’s perception of what real beauty is. Moreover, trying to look younger, thus to act like youngsters, people tend to ignore the wisdom that is supposed to come with ageing.

In conclusion, the obsession with looking young is mainly resulted from media pressure and unwillingness to adopt reality. Pernicious effects on health, waste of precious time and money are the reasons to deem it as a bad thing. In my opinion, people need to realize that there is no harm in getting old and learn to appreciate the wisdom and maturity that come with ageing.