Many people work long hours, leaving very little time for leisure activities. Does this situation have more advantages or more disadvantages?

The job performance plays a pivotal role in determining the sustainability of a person in an organization. While people work overtime to achieve their goal, they hardly find free time for themselves due their hectic schedule. This essay will discuss in detail on why I believe that the drawbacks of overtime working outweigh its benefits and provide supporting evidence for the same.

There are many advantages of spending long hours at a workplace. One of such advantages is that, staffs are paid for the additional hours they spend at work. This means that, even though extra work hours could be tiring, the earning the employees make out of this will help them to ease their financial burdens. For instance, Nurses often willingly surrender their duty-off's to work overtime as they get high perks for each of the out of duty hours they carry out. Other than this, people find overtime-working working as a learning experience. If an employee work for long hours, they will get to acquire more knowledge and skill through hard work whereby they can climb their career ladder at a faster pace. Hence, in spite of the strain at work involved, people take the risk to work long hours.

However, overtime working can be problematic in terms of work life balancing. The major concern is that this can result in health-related issues. When a person work more at their workstation rather than taking required breaks or self-time, it can lead to conditions like burnout syndrome, which is a psychiatric condition for severe exhaustion. Apart from this, it can cause imbalance in social life of an individual. If a person spends more time at work, then they miss out many precious moments in life like spending time with family or friends and attending important events that in turn can cause drift in relationships. Thus, working for long hours has major drawbacks.

In conclusion, I reiterate that the disadvantages of working long hours are more than its advantages. This is not only because it can lead to sickness, but also can result in relationship issues, which are crucial considering the short life a person gets to live on this planet.