In many places, new homes are needed, but the only space available for building them is in the countryside. Some people believe it is more important to protect the countryside and not build new homes there. What is your opinion?

Nowadays, an increase in urban population has led to shrinkage of residential land which has attributed to scarcity of homes. Thereby, to tackle the increasing demand of homes, land in rural areas is being exploited to provide for housing. Some people believe we need to safeguard the countryside and my opinion subsides with this thought.

To embark upon, the land in countryside which is being used for creating dwelling places for urban people is agriculture land. As a matter of fact, usage of this fertile land has a negative impact on farmers because they do not possess any other profession or skill out of which they can make an earning. Moreover, paucity of agricultural land is directly proportional to under production of food. This means the prices of food items will be increased and under-privileged people will not be able to afford them.

In continuity, another impact of using rural land for housing projects can be seen on flora and fauna. It has been observed that places in countryside are rich in plants and other living beings. Therefore, disturbing the natural habitat of such species will endanger them and can even lead to their extinction.

On the contrary, building tower based homes called apartments should be taken up in urban areas on whatever land that is left. The government should discourage building of independent housing in large cities. As a result, the land can be used for accommodating more families by creating towers of flats.

In the end, land preservation in countryside should be the prime agenda for any government as this will help in protecting the local community and the ecosystem of the place. On the other hand, constructing smart homes that can accommodate a large number of people on small piece of urban land is the need of the hour.