In many situations, people who break the law should be warned instead of punished. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, It is argued that it is better to warn the lawbreakers rather than punish them. I, for one, only partially agree with the given statement on the basis of some compelling reasons.

To begin with, there exist a number of benefits accruing from warning the offenders in most cases. First and foremost, it might be their first time. That being said, it would be ethically wrong not to caution these would-be lawbreakers at least once. But if they commit an offense again, it is clear that they should face its consequences, even if some punishments are involved. Second, punitive measures will not always suffice. In fact, we all have seen that those criminals who have faced severe punishment, have got involved in unlawful activities soon after they step out of prison. Thus, trying to employ distinctive policy to tackle crime, at least in the light of pitty crime, seems more practical.

Additionally, although this theory in which offenders ought to be warned rather than punished might not be capable of being applied in all cases, some crimes such as unintentional or victimless ones could fall in the realm of not needing to punish the delinquents. Speaking of the severity of crime, to my mind, some of them require the justice system to be as tough as possible on them. Murderers, smugglers and other felonies alike are the most salient illustrations. In these cases, warning alone will not be sufficient per se.

In conclusion, whether to punish the wrongdoers or not is directly related to the severity of the delinquency. Nevertheless, I am generally of the opinion that warning and cautioning would be more logical to keep criminal activities at bay.