Many students decide to further their study abroad. What are the benefits and drawbacks of studying abroad? What is your view on this? What do you prefer?

There is no doubt that with advancements in globalization all over the world, the majority of young generation are going overseas countries in order to study and to get international experience.

This essay surely argue that the advantages of this outweigh the drawbacks. This essay will first explain the benefits of studying in foreign country in compared to domestic universities and then that it brings added cognitive benefits, followed by an analysis of how the disadvantages.

The main reason for studying abroad could depend on student needs and their future plans, that is why many students prefer abroad to study at a prestigious colleges where employ excellent lecturers who are experts in their field. On the one hand, living in a foreign county can broaden student’s horizons and qualifications gained abroad will open doors to better job opportunities in competitive business market in which employers are looking for. For instance, According the latest survey recently done by The UK Unemployment Head Office, most global business usually insist to hire those who has a degree from reputed schools rather than hiring ones who are graduated from normal schools. Last thing is that overseas students are exposed to different cultures and customs which effects them by immersing them in a language.

On the other hand, being in a unknown country has some negative sides that should not be forgotten. To begin with , living away from home can be seen a challenging situation that leads to having problems related to paperwork such as visa applications and immigrant process. In addition to that students have to find accommodation and pay bills and as a result of this difficult process, many of them feel homesick and miss their families when they does not overcome culture shock.

In conclusion, even though there are limited negative sides of studying in foreign countries, as we utterly see that there are much more positives ones than negative ones.