Many things that used to be done in the homes by hand are now being done by machines. Does this development bring more advantages or disadvantages?

Most of the household chores that were frequently done by human effort have now been overtaken by robots. Although this has some minor drawbacks, it can make work faster and create time for other professional engagements. These will be examined in the subsequent paragraphs.

On the one hand, employing robotics in domestic tasks can encourage a sedentary lifestyle which can be detrimental to the health. In other words, using artificial intelligence in carrying out these jobs make people lazy and stay in bed longer than it is required. Also, it causes home accidents due to machine failures or malfunctioning. However, this can be remedied by carrying out periodic checks and routine maintenance on the machines. For instance, the world’s most famous athlete, Williams Chioma was forced to an early career retirement due to a leg injury sustained while using an electric washing machine at home.

On the other hand, there are numerous benefits of using machines at home. The most probable merit of this is that it aids speedy accomplishment of tasks. Technology driven appliances are programmed to work with less supervision within a very short period of time. This is exemplified by the recently launched Samsung dish washer that has the ability to pick and wash dishes within split seconds. More so, with the advent of robotics in homes, people now give more attention to their occupation and it creates room for career development and efficiency in workplace. With the numerous works at home, it was observed by Robert Gordon Institute of Technology that many staff return daily to work looking pale and exhausted.

To conclude, even though advancement in technology has made house chores to be done by robots rather than human hands, the benefits of using it outweighs the demerits because it enables quicker results and affords time for career pursuit.