Many working people get little or no exercise either during the working day or in their free time and have problems as a result. Why do many working people not get enough exercise?What can be done about this problem?

Nowadays due to hectic schedules, people hardly exercise during their working days and they find it increasingly difficult to do so even if they are idle, thus resulting in a plethora of health issues. This maybe due to sedentary lifestyles and addiction to gadgets. This problem can be solved by organizations conducting health challenges.

To begin with, most of the work these day involve being glued to the computer screens. Employees are expected to exceed productivity by clocking in long hours without any break and sometimes even have to be available after office or during weekends. Consequently, when they have some free time, many rest at home or spend time with friends rather than working out. Speaking further, due to advancement in technology people prefer to unwind by playing games on their electronic appliances or surfing on social media. According to a recently documented survey, 78% of the participants picked phones over exercise as a better medium to de-stress. Therefore, company pressure and constant need to check the mobile result in many working people not getting enough exercise.

However, organizations can use technology as opportunity to make their staff more healthy and active. For example, all employees must walk a minimum of 10,000 steps a day and by the end of every week the person with the highest count can be rewarded. As such they indirectly forcing all walk more instead of being lethargic. Secondly, many companies organize events like marathons and encouraging more and more employees to participate as all their proceeds to charity. As a result, employees can feel good for, their hard-work is not going in vain, as it will benefit the underprivileged. Thus, companies should undertake creative innovation to ensure the overall well-being of the staff.

In conclusion, constantly busy lives and preference to some spend time on electronic gadgets are making it difficult for people to exercise. It is the responsibility of organizations to conduct health activities to get them moving.