The mass media, including television, radio and newspapers, have great influence in shaping people's ideas.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In this modern era, most people build their views on the information shown in television, radio and newspapers. In my opinion, I agree that mass media play an important role in influencing people, however, I also believe that social media has an equivalent impact on shaping people’s idea.

To begin with, mass media constantly bombard people with adverts, world news, trends, and fashion etc. The viewers get captivated and try to imitate that. For instance, TV & newspapers often cover the lifestyle of celebrities in a jazzy manner and consequently most youngsters try to act, dress and talk like them. This example clearly shows the influence of mass media is constantly changing our lifestyle and perceptions. Thus, mass media plays a great role in shaping one’s ideas. Secondly, in our dependence on the media, we have allowed them to mould our notions and opinions of events, places and people. For example, most of us will never meet prime ministers or presidents, but anyone who is regularly exposed to the media will have an opinion of them. When it is time to cast our vote, we will make our decision based on how the media portray the candidates.

Apart from mass media, social media also plays a key role in influencing people’s ideology. With technological advancements, people have rapid and unlimited access to information over the internet. With news applications in smart phones, people are always updated on what is going on around the world. Furthermore, many social media websites such as facebook, twitter etc have a huge impact on people’s view. For instance, someone posts a message on twitter that a celebrity had a tiff with a guy in a restaurant, instantly there would be numerous comments blaming the celebrity, without knowing the details.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that both mass media and social media play a vital role in influencing people’s ideology.