The media should include more stories which report good news. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that media emphasis more on publishing good news. However, this essay will completely disagree with the view, because this trend is likely to fail in reflecting the real image of the society and to degrade the credibility of media to ordinary people.

One of the key reasons to disfavor this view is that such practice leads to the failure of media to bring the true image of the society. Generally, one of the major responsibilities of newspapers and media is to fetch the actual status of the society. If the media makes more good tales public, people would witness the overstated scenario of the society. To illustrate, before the Wikileaks revealed the Mexican Government’s involvement with drug trafficking in 2010, Mexican local medias intended to maintain the government’s rigid stance toward drug-related issues through circulating more success story.

Another critical factor why must not emphasis on positive tales is that this tendency is likely to demote the trustworthiness of media. Usually, people possess a profound believe that medias carry the real scenario of a country. However, people would disbelieve those media if they can reveal medias’ non-neutral stance on circulating news. Therefore, the reliability of the media would be wiped out. According to a survey conducted by the World Communication Forum, more than 80.0% of Pakistani people lost their trust in local media after knowing that newspapers hide many dirty stories of government regarding militant groups.

In conclusion, this essay entirely disagreed with prioritizing good stories which would drive the media's failure to bring the true image of society and destroy their own trustworthiness to the people.