Media surrounds us, from the shows we watch on television to the music we listen to on the radio.

How does media affect the society?

Do you agree that the impact of media has more disadvantages than benefits?

Nowdays, television, radio, newspaper and so on, are everywhere. In my opinion the media influences the people's beliefs and influence the morals of children. I disagree that the down sides outweighs the advantages.

The most important way the media influence the society is that it influences a persons behaviour. people learn from the shows, programmes, movies, news and discussions they watch on the media. They make assumption based on what they see, and what is obtainable in the society about a subject. For example, a movie story about Hausas having multiple wife. In reality, Hausas always marry more than one wife corroborating the story.

Furthermore, the media influences the moral of children, they could be easily influenced and may adopt bad moral. This may be by watching some programmes on the television. To illustrate, a child who sees a man and a woman kissing on the television may also want to try it out with friends or siblings.

However, I think the media offers more advantages such as learning, people can be aware of the happening in the country. This information helps us stay current with latest happening across the globe. For example, children could watch mathematical competition shows on the television to build and develop themselves for their future. also, the media provide entertainment to the people. people get to watch the television and relax after a long days work.

In conclusion, the media has been a good development in recent times. I think the benefit is more than the any threat to a childs morality it may pose, by ensuring parental guidance at all time.