Modern communications mean that it’s no longer necessary to write letters.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

You should write at least 250 words.

Technological advancements have outdated good old hand-written notes. A few decades ago, one could say that letter writing was an integral part of exchanging information, but in the new era of innovative gadgets, there is a more pragmatic approach. I strongly opine that innovative technology has entirely replaced primitive methods of communication. In this essay, I shall discuss the merits and the demerits of new communication mediums over the old means.

Communicative patterns have changed exponentially. Back in the day, people preferred handwritten letters to send messages to another person. Eventually, telephone lines were introduced, which further reduced the dependency on postal services. Furthermore, mobile phones and the internet connected people all across the world in a matter of few seconds. For instance, it is possible to have a quick chat with another person through an audio-visual device at any time of the day, to any part of the world.

Having said that, the older generations are still well acquainted with handwritten letters, as these hold sentimental values and a gesture of being thoughtful. Additionally, it is a painstaking, time-consuming effort to draft a letter. Great ancient scripts have been passed down through generations, in the forms of letters and manuscripts. A good example of sustaining this artistic tradition is observed in schools where letter writing is an important part of learning a language.

Having said that, new means of technology such as the electronic mails, messengers, and cell phones have made communication rather convenient and time conserving. Global acceptance of using these quick ways of communication have become widespread and inevitable. Hence, this leads to extinction of written communications.

In my view, many countries around the world have transformed their post offices into courier service stations, and posting letters is a secondary activity. Moreover, climatic changes have brought awareness to the wastage of paper. Cutting trees to produce paper, is deterrent for the environment. Citizens are now making a conscious effort to save and recycle paper. Therefore, writing letters is not encouraged extensively.