Modern cultures around the world have become similar as compared to the past. What are the main reasons for it? Is it a positive or negative development?

Unlike bygone days, the connection in contemporary customs and cultural background can be seen globally, and the prime reason for this development is globalization. While this trend has contributed favourably towards the nation's economy and businesses, there are a few downsides as well.

The world has become a global village, and the progression in communication, transportation and public industries has paved the way for foreign tourism massively. Having mentioned that in order to make the local conditions and atmosphere more welcoming to visitors, many countries are blending diverse traditions that include dancing, music and food, with their native cultural affairs. This approach is a powerful technique to tantalize worldwide tourists, which in-turn forms several employment opportunities for local people. For instance, in Thailand, there are myriad of multi-cuisine restaurants and cultural exhibits symbolizing distinct cultural history, charms thousands of people from distinctive countries each year.

On the flip-side, it appears that in the race of globalization, people are neglecting their own heritage and beliefs. As a result, many native languages and customs are on the surge of extinction. Even the new generation is entirely detached from the inheritance roots and legacy. To cite an example, In India, the influence of western culture and lifestyle is quite visible, and speaking English has become a symbol of literacy level. Not to mention that several nations are losing their historical significance and prominent events.

To conclude, the fusion of traditions and aesthetic pursuits is an outcome of internationalization, which has a prominent contribution in boosting the economy of the manifold nations. Not only this but also, cultural similarity summoned people from faraway places together and share their beliefs independently.