In modern times, young adults are spending less time with their families and more time

with their friends.

Why has this change occurred?

Do you think parents should force their children to spend more time at home?

It is argued that in this contemporary era, adolescents like to have more time with their companions and less with the kin. This essay will argue that this transformation is due to a generation gap, while I believe that the guardians should not restrict their children to have more time at home, instead they should change their attitude towards them.

These days the understanding gap between parents and children has been widened. This is to say that most of the children think that the believes and thoughts they have do not match with their parents, and they are unable to understand what are their areas of interest so that they do not like to share ideas with their parents. Thus, they are more comfortable with their age fellows and spend more time more part of the day with them due to the sharing of the same idea. For example, a recent survey conducted on teen psychology in the United Kingdom reveals that 85% of teenagers prefer the company of their friend due to the same interests.

One the other hand, enforcing children to spend more time with their family is not beneficial because this would lead them to think that their independence is occupied. However, the behaviour of the elders in the family needs to be changed because when pubescent have a more favourable and comfortable environment at home they would be willing to spend more time at home and pour their heart out with their siblings and parents rather than with their friends. For instance, a recent study conducted by the government stated that the parents who were more friendly, their children spent the least time with their friends and parents were their role models.

To conclude, nowadays the adolescents feel more comfortable in their friend’s company due to the disagreement of ideas and believes with their family. However, I believe that without forcing them healthy time spent with teenagers by changing their behaviour would be more beneficial.