More and more parents are allowing their children to play on computers and tablets as they think that children should learn technology skills. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

<div><span style="font-size: 13px;">In today's modern world where technology is within our fingertips, the number of parents allowing children to play on devices like computers and tablets is increasing as they claim that it is vital for children to learn technology skills. The writer believes that the advantages are greater than the disadvantages which will be discussed in this essay.</span></div><div><br></div><div><span style="font-size: 13px;">To begin, usually, anything that is too much has its drawbacks and this matter at hand is not an exception. Kids with their computers if not properly administered by parents can cause serious negative effects such as game addiction, short attention span and lack of social skills. In addition, there are sensitive contents over the internet that is not suitable for the young ones which can be accessed very easily.</span></div><div><br></div><div><span style="font-size: 13px;">On the other hand, there are significant advantages it can bring to children. First of all, being skilled in technology prepares them in this modern world where schools are starting to incorporate modern technologies in classroom learning like the use of tablets with interactive apps that makes learning more fun and could set them up for a career in technology. Second of all, when properly supervised by parents like setting up parental locks and personally guiding the children, the internet can be very valuable as there are tons of learning materials that can be accessed.</span></div><div><br></div><div><span style="font-size: 13px;">To sum it all up, although this matter has its disadvantages, these are still outweighed by the advantages with the right supervision and guidance as there is no denying that technology has changed people's lives and because it is ever evolving, it is important for kids to learn how things work and how to use them.</span></div>