More and more people in developing countries are purchasing cars for the first time.

What problems does this cause?

What do you think are possible solutions?

Ownership of private automobiles by people is becoming popular in developing nations. The main problem this would cause is pollution and the most viable solution is improving public transportation to encourage people to opt in.

The principal problem associated with the acquisition of cars by people is pollution. Pollution is the degradation of the environment. This private means of transportation by natives can lead to noise as well as air pollution. The result of this is increasing levels of carbon dioxide in the atmosphere. As a result, global warming will increase which in turn will have a severe adverse effect on the planet. For example, a recent government survey found that air quality is degraded by 5% in Delhi in India where private cars are the most in numbers.

To tackle this predicament, the government should make advancements to the public transportation system so that people are encouraged to use it for daily commuting. Many people do not commute through buses and trains as they are not comfortable as well as affordable in emergent nations. Improving public buses, trains and underground metros would cut the number of vehicles on the roads as people would be motivated to use. For example, a similar initiative in Delhi through the introduction of the Metro system reduce the private ownership of cars by 10%.

In conclusion, procurement of cars by many people in developing nations is a major threat to staggering pollution however, it can be addressed through amelioration of common transportation system. It is recommended that government should invest in the transportation system so that more and more people are encouraged to use that.