More and more people in developing countries are purchasing cars for the

first time.

What problems does this cause?

What do you think are some possible solutions?

An increasing number of people in developing nations are making their first car purchases. The principle problem it invites can be traffic congestion and the most viable solution to it is better public transport.

To begin with, the primary dilemma developing countries face when their citizens start to buy cars is traffic jams. This is because people's wealth has grown faster than the infrastructure and this means that roads that were meant for the bike are now clogged up with the queue of lots of cars. Bangalore city, for instance, was first meant to build for two-wheelers only but now 5000 cars duly added every month on their roads making it congested with every passing day. As a result, people get stuck for prolonged hours during the rush periods and it also affects individuals in emergencies as well.

A possible solution to it can be the betterment of the existing transport system. This would solve the prominent concerns by taking people off the roads and make them traveling in a group and leaving the roads with much less private vehicles. As traffic issues increase, people tend to think to sell their cars or use it when necessary. Lucknow city, for example, is introducing their first metro line which can cater 5000 people at a time and are projected to reduce journey time by up to 50% when it will be completed.

In conclusion, although the significant issue of traffic congestion is the surge in the number of cars which clog up the roads but it can be addressed easily through the modern and sustainable transport system.