As more and more people move from one country to another, levels of racism have grown. Is it the responsibility of governments to tackle racism and, if it is, what should they do?

Racist attitudes and behaviour have probably been with us since the earliest interactions of humans from different ethnic backgrounds. Some psychologists believe that racism is a way of defining our social group as different from others. However, even though it may be partly understandable, those in power should take steps to ensure that nobody is treated differently because of their ethnicity or race. Our political leaders are uniquely placed to intervene.

The first area which governments need to target is education. All youngsters- from pre-school infants attending nurseries to undergraduates at institutions of higher education- should be taught to identify, challenge and oppose racial prejudice and aggression wherever they see it. Youngsters need to learn how it feels to be racially abused and they must be given the opportunity to embrace difference and diversity rather than feeling threatened by it. The Minister of Education can ensure that this happens.

In conjunction with this approach, the powers-that-be must confront the media. Websites, newspapers and TV programmes sometimes contain racist stereotypes and negative images of those from ethnic minorities or individuals with different skin colour. Politicians should appoint knowledgeable specialists to monitor and check media outlets. Those in charge of the press and TV channels need to be made aware that racist opinions or images will not be tolerated.

The third and final part of a national strategy should be related to law-enforcement. Stronger legislation should be brought in to punish anyone guilty of racist abuse or violence. All members of the public should realise that we live in a society where this kind of behaviour is unacceptable and will lead to a custodial sentence.

Of course, individuals have a role in stamping out racism. We must stand up to racists. However, political leaders have by far the greatest power to rid our society of this hateful and vile abuse.