More and more people want to buy famous brands with clothes, car and other items. What are the reasons? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Time is changing and so is the consumers’ behavior in choosing commodities. Regarding the cutting-edge technologies, the tendency of buying well-known brands has been enhanced. There are several reasons for this phenomenon and I personally believe that it would be often negative development for both parties, society and individuals.

While it is undeniable that the economic globalization as well as standards of living is improving, this has significantly influenced consumers’ shopping concepts. The reason to buying more brand is that people obtain the sense of confidence by using famous brands. They feel that they have belonged to the group of users that have special characteristics. In addition, people mostly judge about a person from one’s appearance. For example, a Louis Vuitton bag, Channel dress and a car that is made by Ferrari would give a sense of luxurious to the owner that could brag about. The second reason is that purchasing famous brand, even though it poses a great expense, but the buyer is assured about the high quality of the product and the virtue of its durability.

However, the advantage of above could not overshadow the negative impact that buying famous brand would have. Living in the consumerism society people consider only frittering away a huge amount of money as a happiness and welfare. From the individual perspective, providing the situation to buy a brand product which is unique and has superior quality, impose a great pressure on buyers. Particularly, people in the middle level status of society are being forced to be prodigal. Furthermore, from social perspective, this development lead to the huge gap between the levels of the community. This would raise a consumerist culture in the society that properties and material possessions be considered as a social value. Such expansions would do a grave harm to modern society.

To sum up, the development of the buying brand possessions has several behavioral reasons. Since the sequences of that will be negative for both individual and society. Individuals will be at financial risk by this fashionable trend, as well as society will be threaten by promotion of the superficial values.