More and more prisons are being built to house the world’s criminals, and many people believe long-term imprisonment is the answer to solving the crime problem. However, others feel that psychological assistance is what is required.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Crimes are increasing significantly in the modern world at wild pace. Establishments are still unable to cope with this increment and therefore, no compelling moves have been seen. Some school of businesses are advising the former to construct prisons so that society can be nullify from the offenders, while some other oppose this and advocate that no one is born criminal and they feel that psychological support can turn liability into useful assets. Both the views should be scrutinised before coming to the result.

Admittedly, number of serial criminals are increasing and they have made their mind set only to commit crimes. According to the group of surveys in India, 70% of the offenders have repeated the crime for which they had convicted. Hence, for criminals with such behaviour, Imprisonment is the sole solution and longer the time period, more it will be better for society. Further more, criminals can do society work in the prison which will be beneficial for the nation.

However, it is our society that become harsh to individuals, eventually, they turn into offenders. For such type of cases, imprisonment will be inadequate and our law can do justice to them by sending them for probation or recreation centres instead of jails. With such means their actual reasons behind committing can be known and ultimately, they can be corrected by keeping them into their environment. For an illustration, In London, 30% of criminals were send for probation and their results are significant.

Having dwelled on such thoughts, It is cleared that psychological assistance have more benefits and it should be adopted worldwide but serial criminals should be sent to prison.