Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement. To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste?

Industrial waste disposal was one of the biggest and toughest task ahead of establishment for various nations but now the situation is getting worsen as daily household waste is not getting recycled and as a result dumps can be seen on streets and roads. In order to increase the amount of recycling of household waste, many people advocate that authorities should take some strict actions and new amendments are required so that situation can be brought under control. I believe that it is the moral responsibility of humans to keep their vicinity clean, however, if they are failing in it, new laws should be legalised.

Admittedly, nature has created every living being in the same ways and there is a fundamental similarity between all the living beings is that they keep their proximity clean. But now-a-days, humans are failing in doing so and in order to memorise their duties, it is necessary to penalise them. This can only be done by the virtue of laws. Many nations has adopted this strategy and results are commendable. Recycling of waste was approximately doubled in Ireland after they make it compulsory for every citizen to drop their waste at recycle points.

Apart from the fear of getting penalise, education is another appropriate way to teach the deteriorating effects of waste to dispose off without treatment. In the rural areas, people are not educated enough and they do not know the results of their lifestyle on nature and our planet. This can only be achieved by providing them proper training of recycling their household waste. Being Human Foundation has done a commendable job in this regard as they provided all the facilities to some villages in Goa and their waste disposal was reduced by 90%.

Having dwelled on such thoughts, it is clear that education and new amendments are required and the situation can only be controlled by collaboration of education and laws. Government should promote both so that planet can be saved for upcoming generations.