As more and more students enter universities, academic qualifications are becoming devalued. To get ahead in many professions, more than one degree is now required and in future it is likely that people will take a number of degree courses before even starting work. This is an undesirable situation.

Every passing day the number of students entering universities is significantly increasing leading to a reduction in the value of each academic degree. It has become a challenge in many fields that before starting their actual career, students require multiple university degrees. Unfortunately, the situation is likely to worsen in the near future. I believe, academic qualifications are loosing their values not only because of more students entering the universities but also due to a number of other reasons.

In schools, lack of guidance about the variety of fields available for a student to choose is one of the main reasons why all the students blindly select the commonly known fields. For instance, more than half of the students opt for either engineering or medical fields just because they are not aware of any other courses. This has resulted into devaluation of these professions. In these professions for a person to earn well, he has to clear so many degrees before starting his career. To illustrate, a doctor currently needs to study for an average 10 years, after his college, to start practicing.

Academic qualifications are also devalued because of the fact that so many new universities open every year. Because of so many available seats in each field, each pupil (majority of pupils)chooses the field blindly, as per (their)his liking, without giving importance to his (their)ability to sustain in that (their respective)field of work. This had led to devaluation of many academic branches. To overcome this issue, government should not allow new universities to open unless there is a requirement for the same.

In conclusion, schools and government need to take steps like providing required guidance to students for choosing their career according to their capabilities and not letting new universities open every year unnecessarily, respectively, to stop the future reduction in value of many academic qualifications.