Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others, however, believe there are better alternative ways of reducing crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Every country is focusing on reducing crime rate for the positive social and economical growth. Some argue that the ultimate method to demolish criminal activities is long imprisonment to the criminals. Whereas, other people think that several alternatives can be utilised to reduce the crime rate of the country before the crime could happen. According to me, There are numerous ways to pull down the statistics of criminal acts.

Reducing crimes with long duration of the imprisonment is considered as efficient by a few amount of people. It is thought that by doing this, criminal would be punished accordingly. Precisely, they would understand the consequences of attempting crime and would not dare to repeat. For Instance, extended period of prison would keep them separated from family. These would result in realisation of if they had not committed the crime, they would have been with their family. Hence, longer prison might make them feel homesick and would be eager to live ordinary life.

However, some thinks that unnecessary period of imprisonment would lead to frustrating behaviour and provoke prisoner to attempt more crime for revenge. If consideration for the alternatives taken, teenagers or children could be taught about consequences of criminal activities. As a result, they would be more responsible. Social activities can be performed for adults and voluntarily services of social awareness can be given to everyone who wants to be away from these unwanted situations. For already prisoned, skills improvement would encourage them to start new life after the discontinuation of the punishment.

Therefore, reduction of the crime is not specifically done in prison. In my opinion, lowering down the crime numbers could be started by educating individual at the early age as possible and for adults, social improvement opportunities can be arranged rather than just longer imprisonment.