More children in developed countries are becoming overweight. This is a serious problemfor wealthy countries.Discuss some causes and effects of this problem. Give reasons for your answer, andinclude any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experie

Obesity is a worrying concern in many advanced countries and it is predominantly affecting more children increasingly. This essay will discuss the causes of these diseases and the probable effects of the same on children.

To begin with, in advanced countries the number of fast food joints has proliferated in the past decade due to the heavy demand for ready to eat foods, which is considered to be unhealthy and less nutritious and secondly the lack of exercise in one’s daily routine. Because of the high consumption of such food and no exercise, it is imperative that the consequences will be threatening. For example it was found in a recent study that people who consumed fast food were more likely to get diabetes than those who refrained from it. The main reason for not eating healthy diet and working out is the busy lifestyle of people who are never there to provide and cook for children.

The effects of the unhealthy lifestyle and poor diet results in serious consequences such as heart diseases, pulmonary disorders and diabetes to name a few. It also makes the children lethargic and dull, hampering their growth and development. For instance, students who played any kind of sport were found to be more active and mentally strong than their counterparts. These illnesses affect the lifespan of the child and sometimes result in depression.

To conclude, this essay discussed some causes of obesity in young children and its resulting effects which not only hinders the growth and development of the child, but also makes them prone to risky and terminal diseases.