More houses are needed in many countries to cope with increasing populations. Would it be better to build houses in existing towns and cities, or to develop new towns in rural areas?

Nowadays, the number of residents of metropolitan cities is on the increase and consequently they need accommodation which is a basic need of life. People have different views on the issue of whether new houses should be built in existing cities or not. I would argue that develop new towns in rustic areas would be more beneficial for the people and governments.

On the one hand, the existing cities are almost crowded all over the globe and the residents of these mega cities suffer from air pollution which is caused by exhaust fumes and greenhouse gasses and traffic congestion that is a nuisance in individuals' life. Government authorities could not tackle the problem so expanding the existing cities is not a good solutions. Furthermore, for building new houses more natural habitats should be destroys and it would affect the wild life and we would encounter plant and animal extinction in the future and it would be a threat to the nature and unspoiled environment. A salient example of this is the USA that in 1998 lost more than 70% of its natural environment due to the deforestation.

On the other hand, by developing new towns in rural areas government can improve the economy of the country since this trend have positive impact on the local people by providing more job opportunities and bringing income for local people. Moreover, it would be a potent motivation for affluent people to invest money on these building projects. Besides, a majority of senior citizens of the mega cities will move to new developed cities due to accessing fresh air and water. TO support my claim, I can refer to an article having been published in Times magazine, indicates that Germany could take steps to tackle the air pollution by developing new cities and it could enhanced the situation in 2007.

In conclusion, although there are more recreational facilities and health and educational services in big cities, the elderly residents of the metropolitan cities would prefer to move to new developed cities in rural areas to access better water and air. This would be beneficial not only for the residents but also for the governments.