Most countries have locked down themselves in order to prevent the proliferation of coronavirus. Is it a positive or negative development?

It is true that a large number of nations have allowed only restricted movements by means of locking down, to reduce the spread of coronavirus. While some people see this as a positive development, I see this as a negative one and will present my arguments against it.

Those who support lockdown may argue that it is the best way to control the spread and save lives. They also mention that the government has put a restriction only on physical movement and not on actual work. For example, people are allowed to work from home and earn their livelihood. In case, this movement is allowed people will come in contact with each other and it will be difficult to control the spread. Hence, this lockdown definitely makes sense.

In my view, lockdown is not an option and governments should look at a holistic view. Putting people inside their homes is like putting them in jail. A lot of people lost their jobs since they could not travel to their workplace and a lot more businesses are getting closed since they don't have work or funds to pay their employees. As a typical case, we can look at a daily wage earner, a porter on a railway station, who is out of business and will not have enough savings to last this lockdown. Do governments have enough funds to feed everyone in the country, until coronavirus gets sorted out, probably not. So, they should look at alternative means to tackle this problem.

Moreover, this lockdown is also taking a toll on an individual's health. For instance, many people who used to go for a morning walk are confined to their homes, and in turn, now their physical health and immunity will anyway go down. Similarly, small children who used to play in parks in the evening are now settled with Television/Gaming sets. As a result, this locking down of cities will result in making people weak physically and psychologically.

In conclusion, despite the government's intention of saving people's lives via locking down, I believe that it is a big negative step and will have long-lasting impacts since people will either die from hunger or will have other health issues, if not from coronavirus.