most people believe that stricter punishment should be given for traffic offences. To what extent do you agree?

Severe punishment for traffic offences is a debatable topic. Some say that the traffic offences are not as severe as criminal offences and hence traffic offenders should not be punished. I completely agree that negligent driving calls for imprisonment.

Firstly, we all know the effects that alcohol has on our body and mind. Despite the rule imposed by the government to not drive under the influence of alcohol many youngsters do not take the rule seriously. For example, a celebrity in India was exempt from a criminal charge despite killing four destitute who were sleeping on a pavement.The pain and the agony of the family who lost their members is miserable. The law that has a loop hole in the judicial system to not be charged as guilty is ineffective law. Such rules only favor the rich and affluent. If only the law for drunken driving was stringent, the family would not feel deprived of justice.

Secondly, there is a reason why young children are prohibited from driving automobiles. However, some parents encourage children below the age of eighteen years to ride motor bikes and scooters. For example, many garages employee children over the age of fourteen years, because of cheap labor costs. These children test drive the motor bikes that they repaired in the streets and risk the lives of others in the road. As children, do not understand the repercussions of reckless driving, they ride the bikes at high speeds, which might result in accidents. The insurance companies do not compensate a victim for an accident that was caused by an underage driver.

In conclusion, although there are rules and restrictions on driving automobiles, in my opinion, unless the punishment for traffic offenses do not get stricter it is difficult to ensure the safety of motorists and pedestrians on the roads.