Most people prefer to eat outside food rather than homemade food now.

Do you think the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, most of the people would opt to eat a take-away, or at a restaurant rather cooking food at home. In my opinion, the outside food is a junk with a high number of calories, leading to obesity and diabetes.

To begin with, the only benefit of eating an outside food is that it saves our cooking time, which is nearly 3 hours per day in an average Indian family. Owing to the fact most of the families these days require both sexes to work to meet their financial needs, and many live in a nuclear family. Thus, parents are responsible not only to cook, but also to look after the needs of young ones, such as helping them with studies and extra-curricular activities. Therefore, in order to prioritize their work, and to wind-down after a hard day at work, many people prefer to order food from outside.

On the contrary, unfortunately, most people these days have grown up on convenience foods. They are unaware that most of the food cooked outside home kitchen consists of high quantity of salts, sugars, and saturated fats. Thus, leading to obesity, heart diseases, and diabetes. Apparently, in a recent survey conducted by WHO, most of the developed nations have the mounting number of obese people including children, and they require regular medical care. Consequently, resulting in an increasing pressure on hospitals and the government financial budget.

To conclude, I would like to say that although foods from restaurants and take-aways enables us to divert the cooking time to family time or fun time, the underlining negative impact of take-away and restaurant foods are causing serious adverse impact on our health, even leading to increase in fatality rates.