Some people view giving presents as an important way to show care to family and friends. Others think there are more important things that can be done to show care and appreciation.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In the past few decades, people have become materialistic, giving and accepting expensive gifts could be seen as a growing trend for showing love and affection towards each other. While some people prefer giving gifts on special occasion, others believe that helping monetarily is the right approach. In my view, helping friends and family financially will add some extra money in their pocket and then they could choose the right way to invest money.

Some people who believe that presenting expensive gifts on the special occasion will make them stand out in the crowd or will act as a status symbol. Besides this, some people consider that offering presents are a way to be remembered in the thoughts of the receiver, irrespective of the value of the gift. As a consequence, this approach shall aid in keeping long distance relations strong. However, we should not hope to be reciprocated in the same manner, and the financial aspect of the second party should be taken into account.

Conversely, some people opine that gifting money instead of material gifts should be one’s approach and too which I agree. There are few reasons for this, firstly, the gift which has been planned to be gifted on occasion is not what the user requires or already has it. Secondly, the user might be planning to go on a vacation or buy an expensive camera, consequently, by giving money as a present will help him to achieve his desires easily and make them happy.

To conclude, although by giving expensive gifts might make the bond stronger or act as a status symbol for both parties, however, I believe that monetary present will help the bearer pocket get strong, opening the gates by letting them buy what they desire.