Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school.

Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

It is true that in future being bilingual will help in the growth of career prospectus. Whether, children should start learning a new language in kindergarten or in secondary school is a never-ending debate. In my opinion, a child should begin learning a foreign lingo in primary school as they are benign.

On one hand, some people believe that secondary school children are mature enough to opt language they want to learn. This is because of their adaptation with the world has developed, however, in some scenarios it is observed that rather than learning a new dialect children would prefer to learn other skills. Consequently, they come under high pressure from public schools to learn language as a core subject. Thus, I believe that <span style="font-size:11.0pt;line-height:115%;

font-family:&quot;Calibri&quot;,&quot;sans-serif&quot;;mso-ascii-theme-font:minor-latin;mso-fareast-font-family:

Calibri;mso-fareast-theme-font:minor-latin;mso-hansi-theme-font:minor-latin;

mso-bidi-font-family:&quot;Times New Roman&quot;;mso-bidi-theme-font:minor-bidi;

mso-ansi-language:EN-IN;mso-fareast-language:EN-US;mso-bidi-language:AR-SA">instead of &nbsp;</span> pressurizing them to learn a language as vernacular basic familiarization should be provide without any formal assessments.

On the other hand, others feel that children are benign and have a potential to learn a new language and inculcate multiple skills at the same time. The reason for this is that children at this age have high observation power and they progressively adapt and grasp to whatever being taught. For example, research by catalyst and other methods have shown conclusively that child from birth till they complete primary school can learn a new lingo similar to their mother tongue, whereas, this ability gradually decreases with time.

To conclude, although choice of language to learn should be of that child but I believe adopting a new language as a proficient user could only be possible if stared from very early stage of school.