Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school.

Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

There is no doubt that study a different language can increase communication to the different cultural community. There are a group of specialists who think that becoming a bilingual in primary school is far more beneficial for the students than learning in the secondary school. In this essay, I will discuss pros and cons of aforementioned statement.

There are so many benefits of acquiring a new language skill in the early stage of your school. Firstly, as the researchers says that, the children who learn the different language in their first part of school has better ability to memorize the things compare to other students who are monolingual. For instance, because of their working memory they can do their task more efficiently than other children. Furthermore, this increase their multitasking skills. To illustrate this, they can switch their attention to one task while working on another task like, they do in their known languages.

On the other hand, learning the second language can interrupt the students in mastering another subjects like mathematics, statistics, physics or biology etc. To understand this, students will pay a fair amount of time to language rather than on these crucial and critical subjects. In the end, they cannot cop with all the subjects and to some extent, lack of knowledge in these areas will beat them to other fields. Moreover, they cannot prioritize their learning of important courses of the future.

To sum up, while learning another language can increase the memory or multitasking there is some drawback that children will overlook their crucial subjects and in the end less knowledge of that subjects. In my opinion, to have less knowledge about so many things is not significant than having a lots about one thing.